Home > Uncategorized > Individual Assignment: 2D press-fit construction kits [Pen Holder]

Individual Assignment: 2D press-fit construction kits [Pen Holder]

For this assignment, I have chosen to design a pen holder and make use of plexiglass (0.5 mm) as the main materiale. I began the process by sketching some different pen holder models:

After this I picked out the model I liked best (nr.4) and started to design the individual parts (including the measurements) for the chosen model:

Now that I have designed the individual parts of the pen holder. I decided to make a prototype of it, in order to get a better feeling of the overall design and to see if the measurements of the individual parts were appropriated as well:

After some adjustments in the measurements of the individuals parts. I draw this project in Adobe Illustrator CS 5 and exported it to AutoCAD:

Finally the pen holder was ready to be cut out with help from the lasercutter and the right settings in AutoCAD. Here is the final result:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment